A Public Adjuster in Florida is an insurance adjuster licensed to represent homeowners and property owners against insurance companies. Those claimants who suffer damage or losses may employ a Public Adjuster to represent their interests in such claims. Public Adjusters typically hold a 3-20 All Lines License and are required to complete 24 hours of Public Adjuster Continuing Education every 24 months.
Continuing Education must consist of courses approved by the State of Florida specifically for Public Insurance Adjusters. The 24 hours must be include 2 hours of Ethics; 10 hours of Law and 12 hours of Optional course work.
Any Public Adjuster whose CE is due October 2010 or later can only take courses approved for Public Adjusters. Any Public Adjuster whose compliance is due before September 30, 2010 may still take any approved adjuster course.
For those seeking available courses, check with the Florida Department of Financial Services, or the University of Central Florida. hire a public adjuster in texas
Failure to complete these requirements will result in penalties for non-compliance including a fine of $250.00.
Continuing Education may be completed in the form of online training (which does require testing), live classes (no testing required), or correspondence course work (which does require testing).
Completion of CE courses is reported to the State of Florida by the school through an upload of the credits into an online roster provided by the Department of Financial Services.
Providers are required to upload credits within 20 days of completion, although Florida Insurance University and the University of Central Florida upload credits each week. For those concerned about compliance dates, it is the date the course is completed, not the date of the upload, that determines compliance. If you have a June 30th compliance date and the course is completed on June 30th, you are deemed to have complied, even if the course credits are not uploaded until July 10th.